Red Wings Announce 2023 Prospect Tournament Roster


The Detroit Red Wings announced their roster for the 2023 NHL Prospect Tournament in Traverse City on Thursday.

Headlining the lineup are 2019 sixth-round pick Elmer Soderblom, who started last season with the Red Wings before an injury knocked him out of the lineup, and 2022 first-round pick Marco Kasper, who played a single game with Detroit last spring before also getting injured.

Nate Danielson (first round, 2023), Sebastian Cossa (first round, 2021), Carter Mazur (third round, 2021), and Alexandre Doucet (undrafted free agent signing) will also play for the Red Wings in the tournament.

Three free agent invitees on the Detroit roster did not skate at the team’s summer development camp: Forward Jake Uberti, goalie Lukas Matecha, and forward Matyas Melovsky.

Surprising no one, I’m always on the lookout for jersey number changes when camp/tournament rosters are released, and we’ve got a few of them here. Most of them are to accommodate new players on the Red Wings’ roster but some of them are for seemingly no reason.

Carter Mazur had already been announced as switching from #43 to #32, which had been worn by Cooper Moore at Development Camp. This one is weird to be because he wore #43 in camp in honor of Darren Helm and that number is now unassigned, so he didn’t have to change. He’d worn #34, which now belongs to Alex Lyon, at Denver so maybe he decided he wanted something closer to his own number.

Doucet wore #37 over the summer but that now belongs to J.T. Compher, so he’s switched to the #63 that was worn by Sam Stange. Similarly, Jan Bednar now wears #60 because the #36 he wore in July is now worn by Christian Fischer. Emmitt Finnie has switched from #88 to the #64 previously assigned to Maximilian Kilpinen to make room for Daniel Sprong having taken #88. Camp invitee Dean Loukus has taken over Chase Bradley’s #58 because the #15 he wore has been assigned to Jared McIsaac (who needed a new number because the #41 he’d been wearing now belongs to Shayne Gostisbehere).

Speaking of former Jared McIsaac numbers, invitee Connor Punnett takes #61 because the #3 he previously wore now belongs to Justin Holl. A further trio of invitees have switched, with Nic Sima taking the #83 that had been worn by Noah Dower Nilsson after Alex DeBrincat claimed #93, Jackson Desouza taking #79 from Owen Mehlenbacher after Brogan Rafferty took #52, and Riley Sawchuk getting #28 after Jeff Petry took #46 (with #28 having been made available because Gustav Lindstrom went the other way in Detroit’s deal for Petry).

Finn Harding goes from #17 to #70 (which had been worn by Theodor Niederbach), which makes me wonder if someone has been assigned #17 without a corresponding announcement. Taro Hirose could have finally claimed his preferred number, after having already worn three different numbers with the Red Wings. Michael Rasmussen has mentioned wearing that number in the past as well, but neither player was included in the team’s announcement of new numbers last month.  It could also have been randomly assigned to someone returning to camp but not appearing in the Prospect Tournament.

The trio of newcomers obviously have new numbers. Melovsky takes the #56 from Brennan Ali, Uberti gets #86 from Larry Keenan, and Matecha takes Rudy Guimond’s #68.

The full roster is as follows:


Num. Name
29 Nate Danielson
63 Alexandre Doucet
64 Emmitt Finnie
74 Cross Hanas
92 Marco Kasper
78 Amadeus Lombardi
58 Dean Loukus*
32 Carter Mazur
56 Matyas Melovsky*
82 Isreal Mianscum*
28 Riley Sawchuk*
85 Elmer Soderblom
83 Nic Sima*
86 Jake Uberti*


Num. Name
79 Jackson Desouza*
26 Andrew Gibson
70 Finn Harding*
95 Tnias Mathurin
61 Connor Punnett*
38 Antti Tuomisto
54 William Wallinder


Num. Name
60 Jan Bednar
33 Sebastian Cossa
68 Lukas Matecha*

Clark founded the site that would become DetroitHockey.Net in September of 1996. He continues to write for the site and executes the site's design and development, as well as that of DH.N's sibling site,

Comments are closed.