Red Wings Prospect Tournament Jersey Numbers


The 2022 NHL Prospect Tournament begins today and I just realized that I ignored the release of the Red Wings’ roster for the event when it was released a couple weeks ago, so I’ll take a look at it now.

And, of course, by “take a look at it,” I mean I’ll over-analyze the assigned jersey numbers, as per usual.

Detroit’s Prospect Tournament roster usually lines up with their summer Development Camp roster and that’s the case here, with fourteen of the twenty-five players on the Prospect Tournament roster having appeared at Development Camp in July.

Of the returning players, only Amadeus Lombardi has switched his number, as the #96 he wore over the summer now belongs to Jake Walman.  Lombardi takes the #78 that was worn by Shia Buium, who is not participating in the Prospect Tournament.

Five players on the roster were not on the ice in Detroit in July but had participated in various camps prior to that.  Elmer Soderblom keeps the #85 he wore in the 2019 Prospect Tournament while Kirill Tyutyayev retains the #79 he wore in camp last year, as do Seth Barton with his #49 and Jan Bednar with #60.  Albert Johansson wore #95 in Development Camp in 2019 but switches to #20 as #95 is now assigned to Tnias Mathurin.

Five free agent invitees who weren’t at Development Camp have taken the numbers of players who were there but aren’t on the Prospect Tournament roster.  Marcus Limpar-Lantz takes the #83 previously worn by William Wallinder.  Jacob Mathieu gets Dylan James’ #87.  Jake Uberti gets the #61 of Ethan Phillips.  Drew Worrad takes Theodor Niederbach’s #62.  Last-minute addition Jeremie Biakabutuka gets the #63 worn by Sam Stange.

Lastly, Ivan Ivan gets the #86 last worn by Adam Brubacher in last year’s training camp.  There’s a guy who should have gotten a palindromic number.

The full roster is as follows:


Num. Name
84 Julien Anctil*
72 Trenton Bliss*
74 Cross Hanas
86 Ivan Ivan*
83 Marcus Limpar-Lantz*
78 Amadeus Lombardi
94 Mitchell Martin*
87 Jacob Mathieu*
58 Riley Piercey*
85 Elmer Soderblom
79 Kirill Tyutyayev
61 Jake Uberti*
62 Drew Worrad*
56 Pasquale Zito


Num. Name
49 Seth Barton
63 Jeremie Biakabutuka*
3 Simon Edvinsson
20 Albert Johansson
95 Tnias Mathurin
77 Oscar Plandowski
44 Donovan Sebrango
51 Eemil Viro


Num. Name
60 Jan Bednar
33 Sebastian Cossa
31 Andrew Oke*

Clark founded the site that would become DetroitHockey.Net in September of 1996. He continues to write for the site and executes the site's design and development, as well as that of DH.N's sibling site,