Detroit Announces 2023 Training Camp Roster


The Red Wings announced the full roster for their 2023 training camp via social media on Wednesday.

As has been the norm of late, there were no real surprises after tryouts for forward Artem Anisimov and goalie Michael Hutchinson were announced on Tuesday, although forwards Orrin Centazzo and Cam Hillis were late additions.  None of those four are expected to compete for a spot with the Red Wings.

Detroit’s full Prospect Tournament roster has been invited to the main camp, along with all of the players under contract with the Grand Rapids Griffins.

All of those returning players, combined with the Red Wings’ previous announcement of new player numbers, means there aren’t even any interesting jersey number choices.

Josiah Didier, appearing in his first Detroit camp as a Griffins’ signee, will wear the #84 worn in development camp by Axel Sandin Pellikka.  Anisimov will wear the #44 made available by Detroit’s trade of Donovan Sebrango as part of this summer’s deal to acquire Alex DeBrincat.  Hutchinson gets #80, often worn by Detroit try-out goalies.  Centazzo gets the #75 worn in last fall’s camp by Cedric Lacroix.  Cam Hillis will wear the #73 formerly belonging to Adam Erne.

Every player who was in Detroit’s training camp in 2022 who hadn’t already announced a different number will retain their number, which does lead to some cases of reclaiming a number after it was worn by someone else in Detroit’s Development Camp this summer.  Most notably, Matt Luff also gets #22 back from Shia Buium, but most humorously, Albert Johansson reclaims #20 from Anton Johansson.  All other instances involve players under contract to the Griffins.

The full roster is as follows:


Num. Name
44 Artem Anisimov*
48 Jonatan Berggren
72 Trenton Bliss+
75 Orrin Centazzo*
18 Andrew Copp
21 Austin Czarnik
29 Nate Danielson
93 Alex DeBrincat
63 Alexandre Doucet
14 Robby Fabbri
64 Emmitt Finnie
36 Christian Fischer
39 Tim Gettingher
74 Cross Hanas
73 Cam Hillis*
25 Taro Hirose
92 Marco Kasper
24 Klim Kostin
67 Joel L’Esperance+
71 Dylan Larkin
78 Amadeus Lombardi
58 Dean Loukus*
22 Matt Luff
32 Carter Mazur
56 Matyas Melovsky*
82 Israel Mianscum*
57 David Perron
27 Michael Rasmussen
23 Lucas Raymond
28 Riley Sawchuk+
50 Dominik Shine+
83 Nic Sima*
85 Elmer Soderblom
76 Tyler Spezia+
88 Daniel Sprong
42 Nolan Stevens
86 Jake Uberti*
90 Joe Veleno


Num. Name
8 Ben Chiarot
79 Jackson Desouza*
84 Josiah Didier+
77 Simon Edvinsson
26 Andrew Gibson
41 Shayne Gostisbehere
70 Finn Harding*
3 Justin Holl
20 Albert Johansson
2 Olli Maatta
95 Tnias Mathurin
15 Jared McIsaac
62 Wyatt Newpower
46 Jeff Petry
61 Connor Punnett*
52 Brogan Rafferty
53 Moritz Seider
38 Antti Tuomisto
51 Eemil Viro
54 William Wallinder
96 Jake Walman


Num. Name
60 Jan Bednar+
33 Sebastian Cossa
35 Ville Husso
80 Michael Hutchinson*
31 John Lethemon
34 Alex Lyon
68 Lukas Matecha*
47 James Reimer

Clark founded the site that would become DetroitHockey.Net in September of 1996. He continues to write for the site and executes the site's design and development, as well as that of DH.N's sibling site,

Comments are closed.