Three Wings Claim NHL Awards


The Red Wings’ Steve Yzerman, Brendan Shanahan and Nicklas Lidstrom were honored Thursday night at the 2003 NHL Awards in Toronto.

Yzerman was awarded the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, an annual award presented to “the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey.” Yzerman beat out Steve Rucchin from the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim and Bryan Berard of the Boston Bruins.

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy was awarded to Shanahan. The award is annually given “to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice and has made a noteworthy humanitarian contribution in his community.” Shanahan has made a name for himself with his support of the Detroit Fire Department and for helping sick children have a chance to meet the Red Wings and come to games at Joe Louis Arena. He dedicated the award to his late father, a firefighter, and Brendan Filzek, a young Red Wings fan who died from cancer last fall.

For the third year in a row, Lidstrom was named the NHL’s best defenseman, winning the James Norris Memorial Trophy. Lidstrom became the first player to win the award for three consecutive seasons since Bobby Orr claimed it for eight-striaght seasons from 1968 to 1975.

Lidstrom was also a runner-up for the Lady Byng Trophy, awarded for gentlemanly behavior. That award was given to Toronto Maple Leafs forward Alexander Mogilny.

Red Wings rookie Henrik Zetterberg was beat out for the Calder Memorial Trophy as rookie of the year by Barret Jackman of the St. Louis Blues. Zetterberg led all rookies in scoring in 2002-2003 but Jackman impressed many by stepping into the skates of injured defenseman Chris Pronger. No Red Wing has been named rookie of the year in over thirty-five years.

Clark founded the site that would become DetroitHockey.Net in September of 1996 with no idea what it would lead to. He continues to write for the site and executes the site's design and development.

Comments are closed.