2022 Development Camp Jersey Number Notes


The Red Wings opened up their first development camp since 2022 today and announced the rosters for it via Twitter.

Unlike previous years, the team did not announce sweater numbers, and since I’m a numbers geek I couldn’t allow that to stand. I went through Dave Guralnick’s excellent photo gallery to match names and numbers and started filling in gaps from anywhere else I could find… And then the ever-thorough George Malik posted his Day One impressions and included player jersey numbers to fill in the gaps.

There are a handful of returning players who have kept their jersey numbers.  Goalie Sebastian Cossa keeps the #33 he wore last fall in camp.  Defensemen Oscar Plandowski and Donovan Sebrango keep #77 and #44, respectively.  Up front, Pasquale Zito keeps #56 and Cross Hanas holds on to #74.

Returning goalie Carter Gylander has graduated from the #60 he wore in 2019 to #35, which he’ll probably immediately lose to new Red Wings goalie Ville Husso.  Robert Mastrosimone, making his return to development camp, takes the #54 that was last assigned to Bobby Ryan with the #14 he wore in 2019 now taken by Robby Fabbri.

Some of the other assignments show players who aren’t expected to return to Detroit.  Chase Bradley takes over Carter Rowney’s #37, Kienan Draper gets Dan Renouf’s #21, Owen Flores takes over Kaden Fulcher’s #36, and Andrew Oke is wearing Calvin Pickard’s #31 (though, with regards to the latter two, try-out goalie numbers are even more meaningless in development camp).

One interesting assignment is Simon Edvinsson getting the #3 that had been assigned to Jared MacIssac.  MacIssac still has one year left on his deal with Detroit so presumably one of those two will be wearing a different number come the main camp in the fall.

The eighth-overall pick from last week’s NHL Entry Draft, Marco Kasper, is wearing the #92 that previously belonged to Vladislav Namestnikov.

Also worth noting is Carter Mazur having been assigned the #43 that previously belonged to his idol, Darren Helm.

The full roster is as follows:


Num. Name
98 Brennan Ali
84 Julien Anctil*
72 Trenton Bliss*
37 Chase Bradley
21 Kienan Draper
88 Liam Dower Nilsson
74 Cross Hanas
87 Dylan James
92 Marco Kasper
57 Cole Knuble*
96 Amadeus Lombardi
94 Mitchell Martin*
54 Robert Mastrosimone
43 Carter Mazur
97 Owen Mehlenbacher
62 Theodor Niederbach
61 Ethan Phillips
58 Riley Piercey*
67 Redmond Savage
63 Sam Stange
64 A.J. Vanderbeck*
56 Pasquale Zito


Num. Name
55 Kyle Aucoin
75 Drew Bavaro*
78 Shia Buium
3 Simon Edvinsson
79 Cedric Fiedler*
95 Tnias Mathurin
81 Cooper Moore
77 Oscar Plandowski
44 Donovan Sebrango
51 Eemil Viro
83 William Wallinder


Num. Name
80 Pierce Charleson*
33 Sebastian Cossa
36 Owen Flores*
35 Carter Gylander
68 Connor Murphy*
31 Andrew Oke*

Clark founded the site that would become DetroitHockey.Net in September of 1996. He continues to write for the site and executes the site's design and development, as well as that of DH.N's sibling site, FantasyHockeySim.com.

Comments are closed.