Boston's Bergeron Claims Selke Trophy over Wings' Datsyuk

The Detroit Red Wings were shutout of the 2012 NHL Awards Thursday night.

Pavel Datsyuk was the team's only nominee. A finalist for the Frank J. Selke Trophy as best defensive forward, Datsyuk lost out to Patrice Bergeron of the Boston Bruins.

Datsyuk had won the award three times previously, in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Datsyuk was not a finalist for the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, which he had won for four consecutive years from 2006 to 2009. Similarly, retired captain Nicklas Lidstrom was not up for the Norris Trophy as best defenseman, an honor he had claimed seven times in his career.

With no Red Wings claiming an award, it marks the first time in twelve seasons that the team has gone without an award winner.

Comment on this Article

User Comments

Be the first to comment on this!

Pavel Datsyuk

Pavel Datsyuk
Credit: Clark Rasmussen

Related Links


Advanced Forum Search

Current Forum Discussions

Forgot Your Password?