James Norris Trophy Winners

An annual award "to the defense player who most demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-around ability in the position." Winner selected in a poll by the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular schedule. The winner receives $10,000 and the runners-up $6,000 and $4,000.

Year Winner(s)
2015 Erik Karlsson (Ottawa Senators)
2014 Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks)
2013 P.K. Subban (Montreal Canadiens)
2012 Erik Karlsson (Ottawa Senators)
2011 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2010 Duncan Keith (Chicago Blackhawks)
2009 Zdeno Chara (Boston Bruins)
2008 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2007 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2006 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2004 Scott Niedermayer (New Jersey Devils)
2003 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2002 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2001 Nicklas Lidstrom (Detroit Red Wings)
2000 Chris Pronger (St. Louis Blues)
1999 Al MacInnis (St. Louis Blues)
1998 Rob Blake (Los Angeles Kings)
1997 Brian Leetch (New York Rangers)
1996 Chris Chelios (Chicago Blackhawks)
1995 Paul Coffey (Detroit Red Wings)
1994 Raymond Bourque (Boston Bruins)
1993 Chris Chelios (Chicago Blackhawks)
1992 Brian Leetch (New York Rangers)
1991 Raymond Bourque (Boston Bruins)
1990 Raymond Bourque (Boston Bruins)
1989 Chris Chelios (Montreal Canadiens)
1988 Raymond Bourque (Boston Bruins)
1987 Raymond Bourque (Boston Bruins)
1986 Paul Coffey (Edmonton Oilers)
1985 Paul Coffey (Edmonton Oilers)
1984 Rod Langway (Washington Capitals)
1983 Rod Langway (Washington Capitals)
1982 Doug Wilson (Chicago Black Hawks)
1981 Randy Carlyle (Pittsburgh Penguins)
1980 Larry Robinson (Montreal Canadiens)
1979 Denis Potvin (New York Islanders)
1978 Denis Potvin (New York Islanders)
1977 Larry Robinson (Montreal Canadiens)
1976 Denis Potvin (New York Islanders)
1975 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1974 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1973 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1972 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1971 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1970 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1969 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1968 Bobby Orr (Boston Bruins)
1967 Harry Howell (New York Rangers)
1966 Jacques Laperriere (Montreal Canadiens)
1965 Pierre Pilote (Chicago Black Hawks)
1964 Pierre Pilote (Chicago Black Hawks)
1963 Pierre Pilote (Chicago Black Hawks)
1962 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1961 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1960 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1959 Tom Johnson (Montreal Canadiens)
1958 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1957 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1956 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1955 Doug Harvey (Montreal Canadiens)
1954 Red Kelly (Detroit Red Wings)

Return to award list


Advanced Forum Search

Current Forum Discussions

Forgot Your Password?