Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy Winners

An annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association to "the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey." Winner selected by a poll among the 30 chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season. A $2,500 grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, MN, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

Year Winner(s)
2015 Devan Dubnyk (Minnesota Wild)
2014 Dominic Moore (New York Rangers)
2013 Josh Harding (Minnesota Wild)
2012 Max Pacioretty (Montreal Canadiens)
2011 Ian Laperriere (Philadelphia Flyers)
2010 Jose Theodore (Washington Capitals)
2009 Steve Sullivan (Nashville Predators)
2008 Jason Blake (Toronto Maple Leafs)
2007 Phil Kessel (Boston Bruins)
2006 Teemu Selanne (Mighty Ducks of Anaheim)
2004 Bryan Berard (Chicago Blackhawks)
2003 Steve Yzerman (Detroit Red Wings)
2002 Saku Koivu (Montreal Canadiens)
2001 Adam Graves (New York Rangers)
2000 Ken Daneyko (New Jersey Devils)
1999 John Cullen (Tampa Bay Lightning)
1998 Jamie McLennan (St. Louis Blues)
1997 Tony Granato (San Jose Sharks)
1996 Gary Roberts (Calgary Flames)
1995 Pat LaFontaine (Buffalo Sabres)
1994 Cam Neely (Boston Bruins)
1993 Mario Lemieux (Pittsburgh Penguins)
1992 Mark Fitzpatrick (New York Islanders)
1991 Dave Taylor (Los Angeles Kings)
1990 Gord Kluzak (Boston Bruins)
1989 Tim Kerr (Philadelphia Flyers)
1988 Bob Bourne (Los Angeles Kings)
1987 Doug Jarvis (Hartford Whalers)
1986 Charlie Simmer (Boston Bruins)
1985 Anders Hedberg (New York Rangers)
1984 Brad Park (Detroit Red Wings)
1983 Lanny McDonald (Calgary Flames)
1982 Glenn "Chico" Resch (Colorado Rockies)
1981 Blake Dunlop (St. Louis Blues)
1980 Al MacAdam (Minnesota North Stars)
1979 Serge Savard (Montreal Canadiens)
1978 Butch Goring (Los Angeles Kings)
1977 Ed Westfall (New York Islanders)
1976 Rod Gilbert (New York Rangers)
1975 Don Luce (Buffalo Sabres)
1974 Henri Richard (Montreal Canadiens)
1973 Lowell MacDonald (Pittsburgh Penguins)
1972 Bobby Clarke (Philadelphia Flyers)
1971 Jean Ratelle (New York Rangers)
1970 Pit Martin (Chicago Black Hawks)
1969 Ted Hampson (Oakland Seals)
1968 Claude Provost (Montreal Canadiens)

Return to award list


Advanced Forum Search

Current Forum Discussions

Forgot Your Password?